ANIMAL CONTROL SEIZURE–UNLAWFUL? What if it Happened to You?

http://www.ukcdogs.com/WebSite.nsf/Articles/LegislativeUpdate04162008

This is the article by Cindy Cooke, who is an attorney and dog fancier.

if recent legislation hasn’t convinced you that we are fighting for our very survival, maybe the story of Robert Attleson will wake you up. When the Littleton city leaders passed a dog limit law, Bob thought his second property would keep him within the requirements of the law. The city fathers didn’t see it his way.

Instead, Bob became a target for harassment by animal control. Like most citizens who have never had to fight their own government, Bob tried to be reasonable, but he soon realized that he would have to leave Littleton altogether. …”When he failed to show, the Court issued a fugitive warrant and authorized animal control to seize Bob’s dogs. According to a neighbor, animal control staked out Bob’s home to ensure that Bob and Melissa actually left the house before the raid.”

 Neighbors told Bob that animal control came to the house, and when no one answered the door, departed quickly. What the neighbors didn’t know was that animal control was going back to the judge to request a forcible entry warrant.  You are urged to read the entire story at the link above, which pretty much describes the punishment, fines, and the case which I believe is still going on.

  None of the above penalties are authorized by law. The penalty for violating the limit law in Littleton is a fine, not to exceed $999. By holding Bob’s dogs as hostages, the city was able to force him to agree to penalties that the court could not have legally imposed.

If California Bill AB 1634 didn’t wake you up, maybe the story of Bob Attleson will do it.

                                     
This one article alone should ALERT all pet owners—obtaining a legal membership with ability to call an attorney 24/7 is one of the best defenses against illegal actions.  Petdefense is ramping up with both Petpac and media strategist B. Haywood to offer such membership for less than $20/month. There is no contract term. Stay tuned while we finish up the legal plan site and online procedure to join. Don’t wait until AC has harassed you or it’s too late, be prepared in advance so you won’t have to be worried about what to do if it happens to you.  A key point is that you can get 24/7 hr access to legal help if arrested or detained.

With Los Angeles now claiming that No Kill didn’t work, and that they “need” MSN–patrol volunteers, mostly comprised of AR volunteers will be going door to door or something close.  Because the volunteers are chosen to act in place of government employees, it is probably likely that the volunteer would be in the same position for any illegal acts as would a govt. employee. I suppose it might also be possible to sue the group that the volunteer came from (if there was such a group.) There are some complex rules outside of master-servant issues if it involves state employees (so you see why a legal plan could really be helpful.)

See the other post on this blog re when a dog is worth $225,000-$500,000.

3 thoughts on “ANIMAL CONTROL SEIZURE–UNLAWFUL? What if it Happened to You?

  1. If you check out my blog you will see a story worse than Bob’s… The ultimate example of laws being violated, unconstitutional behavior, an entire example of why we need to change the laws. Thank you so much for this blog, it has helped me know that I am not alone, that I was right about all the hidden agendas, & that someone else out in the universe understands. Please feel free to use, quote or share any part of my blog or my page (there is a link to my page with all of the documentation on it). Anything that you think can help others is free reign…

  2. I was recently a victim of illegal seizure. Orange County sheriff had served a search warrant at my house on 9/6/16 for narcotics and found the number of dogs I had both personal n ones I’ve taking in throughout the years and decided to dispatch Seaaca to come out n assist so they can tear my house apart. At first when Seacca personal arrived at my house he begin to remove my dogs 1 by 1. After he n his coworkers had successfully removed all my animals he came to me n we had a pleasant conversation where ultimately he decided that if I was not arrested that day he would return my dogs to me with my promise of deligently seek permanent homes for some of the rescues n get a kennel license i thank him for believing me of my circumstances n we left it at that. Half way through the search one of the officer interrogated me proceed to ask me to take him to the location of where narcotics is housed but I can’t tell him what I don’t know at that moment he starte to read me my Miranda rights and said one more time you better tell me and quit lying or your dogs are gone I told him that I have no idea what he was talking about and that conversation was over that I’m sick of him calling me a liar. At that moment he said. There goes your dogs. That is when I believe he has dispatch code enforcement on site. And if you ever seen what they do on a search u would u no why any subject to a search would be Dean and have no why any house subject he was search would be deemed not habitable. From the moment that code enforcement arrive is when my nightmare begin. After the code enforcement had a conversation with the gentleman with the Seaaca He came back to me n handed me astack of cards to sign n said to me that I have to relinquish my rights to all my animals or he was going to charge me with his services and impose a fine on each of my dog that could go up to $1000 per dog and have me arrested. At first I said I can’t do that it’s not what I want n what happen to what he said to me earlier my head was spinning in disbelief I had been in handcuffs on my front porch for over 6 hours I asked him why n he said u have to u have no choice either sign or go to jail at that point I was looking at my pregnant daughter n I was left with no choice but to. If whomever reading this decides that you would like to help me please contact me via email thank you in advance and no I was not arrested for any violation of law that day but was left with u believe able nightmare there’s more to this. I thank you ahead.

Leave a comment